Research Guides: EDUC 101: Finding Background Information

Non-Scholarly Library Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more.
Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for more than 20 national and international newspapers and over 398 regional U.S. newspapers.
Features full text of radio and television news transcripts as well as indexing and abstracts for many other national newspapers.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text access from 1980 to present.

Site Search

You can find official government or educational information by typing the following in the search:

site:.gov starbucks and eeo

site:.edu starbucks and eeo

Secondary & Tertiary Sources

Secondary Source - A work that is not based on direct observation of or evidence directly associated with the subject, but instead relies on sources of information.

Secondary Source Examples - Reviews, criticism, commentaries, opinion pieces, biographies, text books

Tertiary Source - A consolidation, index, digest, or digest of other sources. These sources tend to list and summarize information.

Tertiary Source Examples - Encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, CREDO REFERENCE