This page can be used to quickly assess the industry report it contains:
Definition of industry
Supply chain
Major players
Main activity
Similar industries
Additional resources
Jargon and glossary
Snapshot of what industry does
Key influences
Past performance
Expected performance
Gain understanding of industry's key points
Provides succinct summary after reading entire report
Key factors (outside control of individual businesses) that help determine the industry's performance
Events, over past 5 years, that have affected industry and how operators have coped
Insights of forecasted changes in next 5 years
Key statistics
Events
Themes
Highlights industry's current stage in its life cycle & what that means to operators
Benchmark against the industry's financial metrics
Sourced from financial statements of Risk Management Association (RMA)
Information found in the Key Statistics chapter of IBIS World's NAIC reports
Provides understanding of what industry does
Details how industry operated
Explains how different factors have affected industry performance
Contains 6 sections that look at:
Products of services
Markets
Where industry is located
Are they imports or exports
The supply chain
How does it differentiate itself from other industries?
Provides snapshot of industry in form of numerical data
Provides 3 tables:
Industry data
Annual change
Key ratios
These data are the basis for:
Industry analysis
Trends and storytelling throughout the report
Provides in-depth analysis on the external environment
Includes factors outside the company's control like:
Capital ratios
Technology required
Overview of regulatory environment
Whether industry receives any form of assistance