Research Guides: HRM 432: Research Process

Starting Your Research

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more.
Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of 80 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for more than 20 national and international newspapers and over 398 regional U.S. newspapers.
Features full text of radio and television news transcripts as well as indexing and abstracts for many other national newspapers.

Main site: Wikipedia

How it should be used:

Gather background information
Generate search terms
Find other resources in the bibliography/reference section

Cannot be cited because:

Currency (No guarantee when specific information has been updated)
Authority (Authors cannot be identified; not necessarily experts)
Point of View (Do not know if the author has bias)

Finding Scholarly Information

A. "Developing a Research or Guiding Question" (by Arizona State University): This video will help you understand the difference between a topic and a research question. It will also help you develop good research questions.

B. "Generating and Using Keywords" (by Arizona State University): This video explains how to determine keywords/concepts. It also explains the importance of finding synonyms or related concepts.

Research Question: How does playing video games affect teenage girls?

	Concept 1	AND	Concept 2	AND	Concept 3
Extract the major concepts from your research question.	teenage		girls		“video games”
List alternatives for each concept: These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept Use single words or short phrases. Find additional terms in abstracts and summaries of articles.	Search Terms		Search Terms		Search Terms
	adolescent		female		“online games”
	OR		OR		OR
	teens		“teenage girls”		Nintendo
	OR		OR		OR

	OR		OR		OR