For students looking for copies of the ACTEX & ASM Study Manuals, here is a comprehensive list of titles owned in book form by the Library at the Chicago Auditorium (AUD) and Schaumburg Robin (SCH) Campuses:
A.S.M. Study Manual - SOA Exam MLC: Life Contingencies, 2011 Edition, vol. 1 & 2 RESERVE SCH & AUD HG8781 .W458 2011
A.S.M. Study Manual - SOA Exam MFE & CAS Exam 3F: Financial Economics; 2012 Edition RESERVE SCH HG8781 .W4567 2012
A.S.M. Study Manual - SOA Exam FM & CAS Exam 2: Financial Mathematics & Financial Economics; 2011 Edition RESERVE SCH HG8781 .C445 2011
A.S.M. Study Manual - SOA Exam P & CAS Exam 1: Probability; 2012 Edition RESERVE AUD HG8781 .O77 2012
ACTEX Study Manual - SOA Exam MLC: Life Contingencies, 2013 Edition RESERVE AUD HG8781 .L52 2013
ACTEX Study Manual - SOA Exam FM & CAS Exam 2 ; 2011 Edition RESERVE SCH HG8781 .F5 2011
ACTEX Study Manual - SOA Exam C & CAS Exam 4; Fall 2009 Edition, vol. 1 & 2 SCH HG8781 .B763 2009 (Circulating volumes) ACTEX Study Manual - SOA Exam P & CAS Exam 1; 2009 Edition SCH HG8781 .B783 2009 (Circulating volume)
ACTEX Study Manual - SOA Exam FM & CAS Exam 2 ; 2009 Edition SCH HG8781 .H3 2009 (Circulating volume) ACTEX Study Manual - SOA Exam MLC & CAS Exam 3L; 2009 Edition, vol. 1 & 2 SCH HG8781 .H37 2009 (Circulating volumes) ACTEX Study Manual - SOA Exam MFE & CAS Exam 3F; 2009 Edition SCH REF HG8781 .H377 2009 (Circulating volume)
Risk has become one of the main topics in fields as diverse as engineering, medicine and economics, and it is also studied by social scientists, psychologists and legal scholars. But the topic of risk also leads to more fundamental questions such as: What is risk? What can decision theory contribute to the analysis of risk? This handbook provides for an overview into key topics in a major new field of research.
The Encyclopedia of Research Design is a collection of entries written by scholars in the field of research design, the discipline of how to plan and conduct empirical research, including the use of both quantitative and qualitative methods.
The goal of this encyclopedia is to help revive statistics education in developing countries. Written by 619 contributors from 105 countries, its joint vision is to show not only that Statistics is a “grammar of science”, but also a fascinating, attractive, stimulating, beautiful, almost magical discipline with plenty of room for fundamental improvements.
This Encyclopedia provides a saga of history of ideas, discovery and invention in the natural and mathematical sciences over 100 generations of great thinkers from Thales to Feyman. It blends the essential historical data (chronology, biographies, major background, political and economical events, etc.) together with science proper (principles, laws, experiments, observations, theories, equations, etc.).
This book covers many interesting topics not usually covered in a present day undergraduate course, as well as certain basic topics such as the development of the calculus and the solution of polynomial equations.
R provides a wider range of analytical and graphical commands than any other software. The fact that this level of power is available free of charge has dramatically changed the landscape of research software.
Springer, in cooperation with the European Mathematical Society, has made the content of this Encyclopedia freely open to the public. Includes more than 8,000 entries, illuminating nearly 50,000 notions in mathematics
Three centuries ago Montmort and De Moivre published two of the first books on probability theory, then called the doctrine of chances, emphasizing its most important application at that time, games of chance. This volume, on the probabilistic aspects of gambling, is a modern version of those classics. While covering the classical material such as house advantage and gambler's ruin, it also takes up such 20th-century topics as martingales, Markov chains, game theory, bold play, and optimal proportional play.