Research Guides: Social Justice Studies: Home

Find Scholarly Articles

These databases will also be useful for gathering scholarly information in researching social justice topics.

If you are off campus you will have to provide your NetID username and password (the same you use for email and Blackboard).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ProQuest Social Science Journals This link opens in a new window
This database includes over 535 titles, with more than 310 available in full text. Disciplines represented range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing every article published in more than 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, across many disciplines, including Education Full Text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides students with exposure to peer reviewed scholarly research with a reference resource of over 1,500 academic journals and other content.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles including all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Womens Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Womens Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.

Find Newspaper Articles

Use these databases to find newspaper articles that add storylines, color, and wit to your social justice research. Newspaper features include interviews, opinion pieces, product reviews, sports, entertainment, travel, business, and current events reporting.

US Newsstream | ProQuest This link opens in a new window
The core of the database is the Major Newspapers collection, which includes national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text access from 1980 to present.
Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) This link opens in a new window
Considered to be the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Full-text access for 1984 to present.
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text of Chicago Tribune from 1989 to date.

Feautured Video: Freedom Riders

Freedom Riders - PBS Video
Running Time: 1:53:00. The story behind a courageous band of civil rights activists called the Freedom Riders who in 1961 creatively challenged segregation in the American South.

Recently added books

General Reference Sources

Use these sources to find either background information on your research topic, or reference information. These are also great resources to use if you're trying to select a research topic. These databases all provide credible information, however they are not scholarly journal articles. For scholarly articles try the sources listed in the Find Articles tab above.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more.
Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
'Pop Culture Universe: Icon, Idols, Ideas' is a combined digital library of books, book chapters, encyclopedia entries, and images on American and world popular culture from the 1920s to the present. An authoritative resource for all levels of researchers, Pop Culture Universe advances the study of popular culture and popular history. Search a variety of subject areas ranging from business, fashion, TV, music, literature, sports, youth culture, or search by time periods, people, or places.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

Sage eReference
Provides access to many encyclopedias in a variety of academic disciplines, including Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Social Issues, and Sociology.