Skip to main content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

Online Learning Guide: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Online Learning Guide where you will find tips for finding resources. Use the above tabs to navigate the guide or use the Online Learning Guide Index found on this Home page.

Your Library ID

Your Library ID number is the ENTIRE number on the back of your student ID:

23311+ your 9 digit personal ID number

 

Creating Your Library Accounts

Need a Book from  Another Library?

Your I-Share account allows you to request books from other university libraries.

Create an I-Share account

Need to Request the Full Text of an Article?

Your ILLiad account allows you to request electronic delivery of journal articles from other university libraries.

Create an ILLiad account

IMPORTANT: The form asks for your barcode number. This is the entire number found on the back of your RU ID card. This barcode begins with the numbers 23311, followed by your RU ID number that begins with "9."

 

Online Learning Guide Index

I. Home
  • Welcome
  • Your Library ID
  • Creating Your Library Accounts
  • Online Learning Guide Index
  • Help
  • Librarian

A. Organizing Your Research

  • Suggested Methods For Organizing Your Research
  • Overview Of Virtual Storage Space Method
  • Video Example (Using One Drive)
  • Links To Other Methods
II. Start Your Research
  • Getting Started
  • Questions To Answer

A. Search Tools and Strategies

  • Determine Key Words
  • Boolean (Operators) Search Terms
  • Search Shortcuts
  • Truncation and Wildcards

B. Database Information

  • So What IS A Database?
  • What Is A Journal And A Peer Reviewed Article?
  • Information About Scholarly Articles And Scientific Papers
  • Websites Versus Library Databases As Information Resources
  • Keywords Or Subject Headings?

C. Evaluating Your Online Resources

  • Description
  • Limitations With Google Search (And Other Search Engines)
  • C.R.A.A.P. Test
  • Appropriate Uses Of Wikipedia
III. Finding Resources

A. Accessing The Library Databases

  • On Campus
  • Off Campus

B. Online Articles

  • Overview
  • Suggest Journals for Background Information
  • Finding Scholarly and Peer Reviewed Articles From Roosevelt Databases
  • I-Share Articles
  • ILLiad Articles
  • Course Articles Put on Reserve by Professor

C. Books From Roosevelt

  • Shortcut To Book Search In RU Catalog
  • Your Library Account
  • Requesting Books Owned By Roosevelt
  • Searching the RU Catalog
  • The VuFind Catalog
  • Special Collections

D. Books From Other Libraries

  • Your Library Account
  • Contact Us
  • Need Help?
  • What Do I Do If RU Doesn't Have a Book?
  • I-Share
  • Worldcat AND ILLiad

E. Videos

  • Main Search Box
  • Kanopy

F. Resources On Reserve

  • How To Access Resources On Reserve
IV. Copyright and Fair Use

A. Copyright Law

  • What Is Copyright?
  • Copyright Basics
  • Copyright Resources

B. Fair Use

  • Fair Use Resources
  • What Is Fair Use?
  • Is This Fair Use?

C. Public Domain

  • What Is The Public Domain?
  • FAQs
  • More Public Domain Info

D. Creative Commons

  • What Is Creative Commons?
  • A Shared Culture
  • CC Licenses Types

E. Important Information For Students

  • Copyright and Fair Use Overview
  • Open Access For Students
  • Copyright Infringement vs. Plagiarism
  • Copyright and Digital Media
V. Citation

A. Using RefWorks

  • Introduction
  • Logging in to Roosevelt RefWorks Account/Creating Account
  • Importing References from Mendeley, Zotero, and Others into RefWorks
  • Upload document(s) From Your Computer
  • Installing Write-N-Cite For Microsoft Word
  • Using RefWorks with Google Docs
  • RefWorks Shortcut in Google Scholar
  • Saving to RefWorks Manually
  • Entering Full-Text From Summon
  • Creating RefWorks Shortcut for Browser
  • Using Write-N-Cite to Write and Format Papers

B. APA Style Central

  • Introduction
  • Featured APA Style Books
  • About APA Style Citations
  • Helpful Websites for APA Style
  • Citation Generators
  • Contact Us

C. MLA Style Center

  • Introduction
  • MLA Style Guides
  • Helpful Websites for MLA Style
  • Contact Us

D. Chicago/Turabian Style

  • Introduction
  • Chicago/Turabian Style Guides
  • Helpful Chicago Style Websites
  • Contact Us

E. Council of Science Editors/Other Science Styles

  • Introduction
  • Science Style Guide Books
  • Helpful CSE Style Sites
  • Helpful AMA Style Sites
  • Helpful NLM Style Sites
  • Helpful ASC Style Sites
  • Helpful AIP Style Sites
  • Contact Us
VI. Getting Help
  • One on One Help
  • Getting Help From a Librarian
  • Contact Us by Phone

VII. FAQs

A. Remote Access Problems

  • Having Problems Accessing Databases Off Campus
  • Problems Accessing from Work
  • Port Issue
  • Browser Issue

B. Other FAQs

  • Help
  • Library Account Questions

Help

RU librarians can help you at all stages of your research process. We can help you make a research plan, identify useful search tools, help evaluate sources you find, and much, much more. Even experienced researchers have questions, so never hesitate to ask for help.

Ways to seek help:

  • Looking for a quick answer, having problems logging in, or just prefer to Instant Message? Chat with a librarian.
  • Ask questions by email: Email a Librarian
  • Schedule a one-on-one appointment (indicate that you want a virtual meeting in the "Where would you like to meet?" box and we will schedule the meeting with you.
  • Phone:
    • Auditorium Building (312-341-3639)
    • Schaumburg (847-619-7980)
    • Performing Arts (312-341-3651)

Librarian Contact Information

Dr. Barbara Anderson
(Chicago)
Office: AUD 1035
Phone: 312-341-3647

Dr. Lindsy Frazer
(Embedded Librarian)
 

EMail Me EMail Me