Research Guides: Equity Teaching Academy: Home

Objectives for Today's Session

Explore library guide sources that relate to:
- Instruction
- Curriculum
- Other DEI Sources
Find DEI sources, from library databases and the Web, for different fields of study
Discussion (Think about the information and sources you found from a student's perspective)
- What can you do to decolonize your curriculum?
- What can you do to make your curriculum more inclusive for:
  - BIPOC students
  - LGBTQ+ students
  - Students with disabilities
  - Non-traditional students
  - Homeless students
  - Others (Who are we missing?)

EBSCO Databases & Journals

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. EBSCO provides links to recent "ED" documents.

College Teaching: In this journal, you will find interdisciplinary articles about topics regarding teaching and learning at the graduate and undergraduate levels. NOTE: The most recent articles (1 year and 3 months) of this journal are not available with our subscription.

ProQuest Databases

ERIC via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities

Suggested Database Search Terms

1. NOTE: Choose AB Abstract or Author-Supplied Abstract for ALL search terms. Also, look in Trade Publications, in addition to Academic Journals.
equity OR diversity OR inclusion
AND
teaching OR education OR instruction
AND
higher education OR college OR university OR post-secondary OR postsecondary

2. NOTE: Choose AB Abstract or Author-Supplied Abstract for ALL search terms. Also, look in Trade Publications, in addition to Academic Journals.
equity OR diversity OR inclusion
AND
teaching OR education OR instruction
AND

biology OR business OR sociology OR....

Librarian Contact Information

Barbara Anderson, Ed.D.
Head of Instruction and Learning

Office: 1030 AUD
Phone: 312-341-3647

Email Me

Equity Teaching Academy

Other Sources

Sample Google Site Searches

Objectives for Today's Session

EBSCO Databases & Journals

ProQuest Databases

Suggested Database Search Terms

Librarian Contact Information