Data Sources

The National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture (NADAC) is a repository that facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring data, particularly those funded by federal agencies and other organizations, and sharing those data with researchers, policymakers, people in the arts and culture field, and the general public.

Uniform Crime Reports - The Uniform Crime Reports (from the FBI) are produced from data provided by nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.

Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 3,100 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

Free and open access to global development data.

Short for Federal Reserve Economic Data, FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by the Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, goes far beyond simply providing data: It combines data with a powerful mix of tools that help the user understand, interact with, display, and disseminate the data. In essence, FRED helps users tell their data stories. The purpose of this article is to guide the potential (or current) FRED user through the various aspects and tools of the database.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Your Gateway to NASA Earth Observation Data! The Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) Program provides full and open access to NASA’s collection of Earth science data for understanding and protecting our home planet.

Free access to NCEI's archive of global coastal, oceanographic, geophysical, climate, and historical weather data. These data include quality controlled hourly, sub-hourly, daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of NOAA's archived environmental data. Data are available through direct download or sub-setting services. Customers can also order most of these data as certified hard copies for legal use.

The IEA provides the world’s most authoritative and comprehensive source of global energy data. The IEA collects, assesses and disseminates energy statistics on supply and demand, compiled into energy balances in addition to a number of other key energy-related indicators, including energy prices, public RD&D and measures of energy efficiency, with other measures in development.

Climate Watch offers open data, visualizations and analysis to help policymakers, researchers and other stakeholders gather insights on countries' climate progress.

The CERN Open Data portal is the access point to a growing range of data produced through the research performed at CERN. It disseminates the preserved output from various research activities and includes accompanying software and documentation needed to understand and analyse the data.

We use data and evidence to advance public knowledge — adding certainty where we can and uncertainty where we must.

Our mission is to fight devastating ignorance with a fact-based worldview everyone can understand. Gapminder identifies systematic misconceptions about important global trends and proportions and uses reliable data to develop easy to understand teaching materials to rid people of their misconceptions. Gapminder is an independent Swedish foundation with no political, religious, or economic affiliations.

The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about women’s political participation in the United States. Its mission is to promote greater knowledge and understanding about the role of women in American politics, enhance women's influence in public life, and expand the diversity of women in politics and government.

The human development composite indices have been developed to capture broader dimensions of human development, identify groups falling behind in human progress and monitor the distribution of human development. In addition to the HDI, the indices include Multidimensional Poverty Index (MPI), Inequality-adjusted Human Development Index (IHDI), Gender Inequality Index (GII), Gender Development Index (GDI), Planetary pressures-adjusted HDI (PHDI) and Gender Social Norms Index (GSNI).

Human development dashboards connect human well-being with aspects of human development that could not be captured with single indicators or composite indices. The dashboards are updated annually and cover quality of human development, life-course gender gaps, women’s empowerment, human development in the Anthropocene, and others.

Welcome to FastStats by the CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention). Use this index for quick and easy access to: Up-to-date data on women's health in the United States.

The World Bank's Gender Data Portal makes the latest gender statistics accessible through compelling narratives and data visualizations to improve the understanding of gender data and facilitate analyses that inform policy choices.