Skip to main content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

Education

Required: How do I...

 

 

 

Image of a keyboard key with the word help

Reference Books in Education

Reference sources for information on Education:

 

NOTE: AUD = Auditorium Building (Chicago) Campus; SCH = Schaumburg (Robin) campus

Selected Reference E-Book Sources

Off-campus users will be prompted to enter their NetID username and password (the same you use for email and Blackboard).

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development

Available in Credo, this comprehensive source covers all aspects of child development from ontogenetic development to learning theories. Part II covers research methodology from data collection techniques to research design and data analysis.

 

 

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education

Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education

Available through Sage eReference, contains 300 discrete topics organized into several categories focused on: Family, Communities, and Society; History; Instructional Designs; Languages and Linguistics; People and Organizations; Policy Evolution; Related Social Sciences; and  Teaching and Learning. Each entry contains a list for further reading.

 

 

 

 Encyclopedia of Education LawEncyclopedia of Education Law

 Available through Sage eReference, "offers a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law that tells its story from a variety of perspectives." Entries are arranged alphabetically, a Reader's Guide organizes the entries into 17 subject areas, including: Collective Bargaining, Constitutional Rights and Issues, Curricular and Instructional Issues, Parental Rights, Primary Sources: Excerpted U.S. Supreme Court Landmark Cases, Religion in Public Schools, and Special Education and Rights of Disabled Persons. Includes some coverage on international issues.

 

 

Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration

  Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration

 Available through Sage eReference, "describes the theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories that represent educational leadership and school administration as it is taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today."

 

 

 

    The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods

  Available through Sage eReference, presents current information and techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research, designed to appeal to undergraduate and graduate students, practitioners, researchers, consultants, and consumers of information across the social sciences, humanities, and health sciences. The entries cover every facet of qualitative methods, including gaining access to research participants, data coding, and research ethics. Each entry is designed to provide an introduction to the topic at hand and includes a list of key readings on the topic.

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook

 21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook

Available through Sage eReference, "the two-volume work highlights the most important topics, issues, questions and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of education ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century.

 

 

 

Reference E-Books - Education

Off-campus users will be prompted to enter their NetID username and password (the same you use for email and Blackboard).

About Reference E-Books

The library provides online access to electronic versions of many reference books, including general resources such as Encyclopedia Brittanica and specific encyclopedias, almanacs, and dictionaries. You have the option of searching an entire collection of reference books using the general search options listed here, or you can search within specific reference books.

Note to off-campus users: when clicking a link to an online reference book, you may be prompted to log in using your NetID username and password (the same you use for email and Blackboard).

Contact Us (sm)