The following information is from the Using RefWorks Writing Tool Add-Ons PowerPoint in the Refworks Libguide by Proquest.
1. In RefWorks, select Tools > Tools. The Tools page appears.
2. In the Cite in Microsoft Word area, select Download & Install to download the latest version, or Other Windows and Mac Versions to download other versions. If you select Download & Install, the download starts. If you select Other Windows and Mac Versions, the Write-N-Cite for Word Download Page appears. Select the relevant version and select Download & Install to start the download. The available options depend on your operating system.
3. Start the installation and follow any on-screen instructions. After installing the plugin, a RefWorks ribbon appears in Microsoft Word.
4. To create a citation, select Insert Citation > Insert New. To edit, double-click the citation. In either case, the Insert/Edit Citation pane appears.
5. Use the folders and the search bar to locate the reference. You can right-click on it to see complete reference information.
6. Select the reference. A preview of the formatted citation appears in the Preview Citation area. Optionally select + in the Compose Citations area to add additional references to the citation.
7. To have a footnote, and not inline citation, select Make Footnote. Unlike other configuration options (see next step), this cannot be undone once you save the reference.
8. Select OK to insert or save the selected references. Different formats apply depending on whether you add the reference inline or as a footnote.
9. To create a citation, select Insert Citation > Insert New. To edit, double-click the citation. In either case, the Insert/Edit Citation pane appears. Use the folders and the search bar to locate the reference. You can right-click on it to see complete reference information.
10. Select the reference. A preview of the formatted citation appears in the Preview Citation area. Optionally select + in the Compose Citations area to add additional references to the citation. To have a footnote, and not inline citation, select Make Footnote. Unlike other configuration options (see next step), this cannot be undone once you save the reference. Select OK to insert or save the selected references. Different formats apply depending on whether you add the reference inline or as a footnote.
.
To insert a bibliography that includes all Write-N-Cite managed entities in your document, select Bibliography Options > Insert Bibliography.
Select “Bibliography options” >> “Create Bibliograpyhy”
The bibliography will be created where your cursor is, with your current style.
You can see other styles available from the drop down list or from “Other style”
The styles displayed are the ones you have used recently in your RefWorks account.
If you want a style that is not in the list:
1.Go back to RefWorks
2. perform any action (e.g. create a bibliography, view a folder in that style…)
3.Go back to Word
4.Click “Sync my database”
5.The style will appear in your list
From the bibliography options menu you can also Remove or format your bibliography.
If you remove your bibliography, you can insert it again at any time.
To format your bibliography you must first unlock your style.
Then you can change your format:
You can always restore your bibliography to default settings.
