Use the sources to find background information on your research topic. These are also great resources to use if you're trying to select a research topic. These databases all provide credible information, however they are not scholarly journal articles. For scholarly articles try the databases listed above.
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
This database explores broad current events and controversial topics from a global perspective. Information is arranged in topical “portals.” These portals provide a wide range of materials, including a brief overview of the topic, reference sources for background information, global news articles, images and videos, podcasts, primary source documents, scholarly journal articles, and more.
An online full-text collection of valuable reference books in multiple subject areas; includes many multidisciplinary reference e-books, including some with primary source documents; can be browsed by subject or searched by keyword.
Individual titles can also be accessed from the RU Library Catalog.
An online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more.
Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine.
This comprehensive database focuses on U.S. and international criminal justice journals, providing research support for students interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
Provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from more than 10,000 sources, selected to meet academic needs covering news, business, legal, medical, reference resources. Alternative Link:http://ezproxy.roosevelt.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com
Includes: National and regional newspapers, U.S. Federal and state case law; Shepard’s® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases; and business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings & reports.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.