Research Guides: PSYC 530: Highlighted Tests and Measurements

Introduction

This page highlights tests and measurements for your class and discusses how to access SPSS on your personal computer.

Highlighted Test Resources

PsycTests This link opens in a new window
This database is published by the American Psychological Association and provides bibliographic, plus full text and multimedia of psychological tests from the early 1900s to the present. Test records include descriptive summaries of the test and its development and administration, mostly drawn from articles in peer-reviewed journals or books, with downloadable tests. 75% of the test records contain the actual test or test items.

There are 3 main ways to search for tests:

Method 1: By test name
- e.g., depression in TI Test Name
Method 2: By purpose
- e.g., joy or enjoyment or happy or happiness in PU Purpose
Method 3: By category
- e.g., speech and hearing in SU Test Category

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This database is published by the American Psychological Association and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations, and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed.

Coverage: 1806 - current

NOTE: DSM-V is now available through PsychiatryOnline.com. The new edition of the most comprehensive resource used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. It is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.

SPSS for Home Use

The University's new licensing agreement with IBM includes SPSS software for home use, meaning that you can download and install it on personally owned computers.

1. To download SPSS, visit the SPSS 29 for Roosevelt Students

2. Under the Visitors section, click the View Shared Files button

3. Double-click the folder that corresponds to your computer’s operating system. Windows users should check the computer properties to determine whether the 32-bit or 64-bit versions are appropriate.

4. The license key you will need to complete the installation is in a file within each folder. Download that and enter the key when prompted. This key is valid until Dec. 31, 2023.

Support is only available online. IBM offers a support forum

Also, because this is a widely used product, many support and usage questions can be answered via Web searching.

Getting a Test in PsycINFO

There are two ways to search for tests:

Click on PsychINFO link below.
Go to "Advanced Search."

Method #1:
- In the first search term box, enter the name of the instrument, the word, "AND" and the word, "appended."
- In the drop-down menu next to the search box, select "Tests and Measures." ex: "anxiety and appended" Tests and Measures
- Your results should contain a test(s) for anxiety appended to the article(s).
Method #2:
- In the first search box, enter the term, "test appended."
- In the drop-down box next to this box, select, "Keywords."
- In the second search box, enter the name or the subject of the test.
- Your results should contain appended tests.

Copyright Issues

Tests and measurements, regardless of whether they have been published in a journal, are copyright-protected. In order to use a test, you must get permission from the author.

The list of links below will direct you to test publishers. If you obtain a faculty letter stating the reason for your request, it is often possible to get permission to use the test.

Contact the publisher or author of the test for permissions.

For more information on copyright issues, go to the APA website page Copyright Permissions FAQs