Research Guides: BIOL 468: Find Articles

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles (some of which are free) and other related resources.
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate is the largest full-text companion to the MEDLINE index, providing medical professionals and researchers unparalleled access to 2,500 active full-text journals, including numerous top biomedical publications.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally. It provides access to the information in virtually every life science discipline and contains nearly 13.2 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles including all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The online platform for Taylor & Francis Group content. As one of the world’s leading publishers of scholarly journals, Taylor & Francis' content spans all areas of the humanities, social sciences, behavioral sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Use the 360 Link to Full Text button to retrieve your journal articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides students with exposure to peer reviewed scholarly research with a reference resource of over 1,500 academic journals and other content.
JSTOR Open Access This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of open access eBooks and journals from JSTOR.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link to Google Scholar connects you to the full-text of articles provided through RU Library journal subscriptions.
Look for... "Full-Text @ My Library"
Google Scholar provides a broad search that includes selected research papers, professional society and interest group publications, conference reports, book summaries, and media reports. Results include abstracts and citations, drafts, works in progress, reprints, and peer-reviewed journal articles. Not everything in Google Scholar is free.

Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the Web. A drawback is that not all articles are free.

Google Searching Tips/Shortcuts

Search Shortcuts

	Explanation	Example
Phrase Search (Using Quotation Marks	Looks for complete phrase exactly as it is typed	"human cause for climate change"
Site:	Focuses on specific domain types .com (commercial), .org (organization), .gov (government), .edu (education)	site:.gov 2016 presidential voting statistics
Related:	Finds similar sites	related:put the url of another site
Link:	Finds sites that are linked to a site or have used the site as a reference	link:put the url of another site
Filetype:	Finds information in a specific file format (e.g., .doc, .ppt, .pdf, .xls, etc)	filetype: .xls 2016 presidential election results