Contact
Theses and Dissertations
Online access to dissertations and theses produced from 1997 to present is available via ProQuest. Log in required.
- If you know which dissertation/thesis you need, search by title.
- If you would like to browse the Roosevelt University collection:
- Select "Dissertations & Theses" → "Browse by Location" → "United States -- IL" → "Roosevelt University"
- Through ProQuest, current users also have access to dissertations from hundreds of other institutions around the world. Browse these by location or subject.
A small collection of undergraduate Honors theses and Chicago Musical College theses are digitally available on CARLI Digital Collections.
Alumni Visitor Policy
The Library permits in-person access for visitors, including alumni, who have a scheduled appointment to conduct research using specific special collections. General visitors and personal research are not permitted.
Access is limited to the following collections:
- University Archives
- Illinois Labor History
- Music and Theater
- Center for New Deal Studies
All visitors must have a confirmed research appointment and will be accompanied by library staff during their visit.
To request access to these collections, please email refdt@roosevelt.edu. Appointment availability is limited and subject to staff scheduling.
Locate a Record
ArchivEra: Accessing Archival Records
Sometimes users know what archives they need for specific projects. Other times, it is important for researchers and students to be able to browse archival collections without knowing the specific material that will inspire or be useful in their studies. ArchivEra, the RU Archives content management software, contains over 50,000 records describing our archives. Click the image or link below to access the portal.
Searching within ArchivEra takes some practice, but functions similarly to library databases. Using keywords and filters, search for specific archival records using the main search bar. Need assistance locating a record? Reach out to Claire!
-
ArchivEra PortalBrowse the RU Archives by collection or creator, or use key words to locate a record.
Who can access the archives?
Current Students, Staff, and Faculty
Reach out to Claire to request to view archives in person. Research takes place on the 10th and 11th floors of the Auditorium Building. For Fall 2025, the archives are open by appointment only. Professors: visit the Learn & Teach tab to explore including primary resources in your course.
Alumni and Outside Researchers
The Library permits in-person access for visitors, including alumni, who have a scheduled appointment to conduct research using specific special collections. Reach out to Claire to inquire about a specific item, collection, or subject. If available to digitize, a scanned version of the item may be emailed to you. Typically, requests are filled anywhere between 2 weeks and 1 month, but this depends greatly on what is being requested.
Note: Sometimes archives are unavailable when they are being processed, preserved, repaired, or transferred. Other RU departments, policies, or plans might affect what archives are available as well. Please be patient and contact Claire if you have any questions or concerns.