Skip to main content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

Online Learning Guide: Online Articles

Overview

On this page, you will find:

  • Suggested Journals for Background Information
  • Open Resource Articles
  • Finding Scholarly and Peer Reviewed Articles From Roosevelt Databases
  • I-Share Artilces
  • ILLiad Articles
  • Course Articles Put On Reserve by Professor

Suggested Journals for Background Information

Encyclopedias/Databases:

Credo Reference: Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine

CQ Researcher: CQ Researcher is a database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time

CQ Weekly: A weekly news magazine featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983, including: a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.

Current Affairs in Video: Features award-winning films and documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical political issues of the day.

Gale Virtual Reference Library: The Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online full-text collection of valuable reference books in multiple subject areas. This collection includes many multidisciplinary reference e-books, including some with primary source documents.

Sage eReference General Search: Sage eReference provides access to many encyclopedias in a variety of academic disciplines, including Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Social Issues, and Sociology

Popular Magazines:

Global Issues in Context: A database that explores broad current events and controversial topics from a global perspective. Information is arranged in topical “portals.” These portals provide a wide range of materials, including a brief overview of the topic, reference sources for background information, global news articles, images and videos, podcasts, primary source documents, scholarly journal articles, and more.

Magazines on Google: Some popular magazines found on Google.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Resource that covers current topics and presents each side of the issue.

Newspapers:

Chicago Tribune: Complete full-text of Chicago Tribune from 1989 to date.

Lexis-Nexis Academic: General Search: Provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic needs covering news, business, legal, medical, reference resources. (Includes: National and regional newspapers, U.S. Federal and state case law; Shepard’s® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases; and business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings & reports.)

Newspaper Source Provides selected full text for more than 20 national and international newspapers and over 398 regional U.S. newspapers. ((Features full text of radio and television news transcripts as well as indexing and abstracts for many other national newspapers.)

New York Times: Free full-text access from 1981 to present.

Proquest Newsstand: Proquest Newsstand is a database of online newspaper articles.

Regional Business News: Full text coverage of 80 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition): Considered to be the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Full-text access for 1984 to present.

Blogs:

BlogSearchEngine.Org:  Tool for searching many blogs including .gov, .edu, .org as well as .com sites.

Search Blog Spot:: Tool for searching blogs that are on Blogspot (a free blog creation/hosting site sponsored by Google.

Open Resource Articles

Directory of Open Access Journals: Search scholarly journals by title or topic.

Find Articles: Search 10-million-plus articles from "leading academic, industry and general interest publications."

Free Medical Journals: Medical journals that are free now and those that are free 1-6 months after publication. You may browse by title or by specialty area.

Google Scholar: Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the Web. A drawback is that not all articles are free.

High Wire Press: Hosted by Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press provides more than 1.3 million full-text, peer-reviewed articles from 900-plus journals.

Public Library of Science: The Public Library of Science is an excellent open access site for biological and medical research articles.

Scholarly Article Databases

I-Share Articles

I-Share

  • The I-Share catalog compiles the holdings of a consortium of 70+ college libraries in the state of Illinois called CARLI, of which Roosevelt University is a member. In addition to finding articles, the I-Share catalog is the best option for requesting books and other physical media because it allows you to keep the items you request for longer, and you can even visit local I-Share libraries and directly check out many types of material with your Roosevelt ID.

ILLIAD Articles

Use your ILLiad account to submit article requests, view received articles, and track current and past requests for articles. If an article is not available in one of the library's databases or collections, you can submit a request directly from the database - ILLiad will fill out the request form automatically.

For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan libguide.

Course Articles Put On Reserve By Professor

  • Reserve items are only accessible by students enrolled in the course.
  • For e-reserves, students can access the materials online at any time at http://libguides.roosevelt.edu/er.php. To ensure that only enrolled students access the materials, library staff have assigned a password to the course e-reserves page. You need to obtain the password from your instructor.
  • For physical reserves, students can access the materials during regular library operating hours at the Circulation Desk of the library. Faculty have indicated if they want the item at the Murray-Green Library, the Performing Arts Library, or the Schaumburg Library.
  • Reserve materials will bear a copyright notice, either on the physical item or you will be required to acknowledge the notice before accessing e-reserves.

Google Scholar Search

Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the Web. A drawback is that not all articles are free.