Research Guides: PAL Research Guide: Books &amp; Playscripts

General Model for Citing Books in Chicago (NB System)

Footnote(N):

1. First name Last name, Title of Book (Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

Corresponding bibliographical entry (B):

Last name, First name. Title of Book. Publisher, Year of publication.

A Note: In the 18th edition of Chicago Style, the publisher location city is no longer required, as in previous editions.

***When citing playscripts, treat them as books and follow the guidelines for books.***

Click here for the Purdue Owl's full formatting and style guide to books.

Books

The Study of Ethnomusicology by Bruno Nettl
Call Number: Performing Arts Library - Stacks ; ML3798.N47 2005
ISBN: 0252072782
Publication Date: 2005-11-22
The first edition of this book, The Study of Ethnomusicology: Twenty-Nine Issues and Concepts, has become a classic in the field. This revised edition, written twenty-two years after the original, continues the tradition of providing engagingly written analysis that offers the most comprehensive discussion of the field available anywhere. This book looks at the field of ethnomusicology--defined as the study of the world's musics from a comparative perspective, and the study of all music from an anthropological perspective--as a field of research. Nettl selects thirty-one concepts and issues that have been the subjects of continuing debate by ethnomusicologists, and he adds four entirely new chapters and thoroughly updates the text to reflect new developments and concerns in the field. Each chapter looks at its subject historically and goes on to make its points with case studies, many taken from Nettl's own field experience. Drawing extensively on his field research in the Middle East, Western urban settings, and North American Indian societies, as well as on a critical survey of the available literature, Nettl advances our understanding of both the diversity and universality of the world's music. This revised edition's four new chapters deal with the doing and writing of musical ethnography, the scholarly study of instruments, aspects of women's music and women in music, and the ethnomusicologist's study of his or her own culture.

Bibliography

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of book. Publisher, Date of Publication.
Nettl, Bruno. The Study of Ethnomusicology: Thirty-Three Discussions. University of Illinois Press, 2015.

Notes

1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of book (Publisher, Date of Publication), page numbers.
1. Bruno Nettl, The Study of Ethnomusicology: Thirty-Three Discussions (University of Illinois Press, 2015), 35.

Elements of Sonata Theory by James Hepokoski; Warren Darcy
Call Number: Performing Arts Library - Stacks ; MT62.H46 2006
ISBN: 9780195146400
Publication Date: 2006-08-31
For over 150 years the concept of "sonata form" lay at the heart of European instrumental music. Now, in Elements of Sonata Theory, musicologist James Hepokoski and music theorist Warren Darcy rethink its basic principles. Considering not only sonatas but also chamber music, symphonies, overtures, and concertos, their study outlines a new, updated paradigm for understanding the compositional choices present in the instrumental works of Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, and their contemporaries. It also lays down an indispensable foundation for those working with later adaptations and deformations of these musical structures in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Combining insightful research and analysis, contemporary genre theory, and provocative hermeneutic turns, these original perspectives provide a creative approach to the exploration of meaning within a familiar repertory. The authors map out the background terrain of historical norms at work in this music and provide a flexible mode of analysis for perceiving and assessing what happens--or what does not happen--in any given piece. They guide readers through the formatting possibilities within each compositional space in sonata form, while also introducing new ideas for understanding the ordering of musical modules over an entire movement and, more broadly, over an entire multimovement composition. The product of over a dozen years of research, Elements of Sonata Theory is the most thorough study of the sonata ever undertaken. It serves as a challenge both to students and to experienced musicologists and music theorists to rethink how sonata form is best understood.

Bibliography

Author Last Name, Author First Name and Author First Name Author Last Name. Title of book. Publisher, Date of Publication.
Hepokoski, James and Warren Darcy. Elements of Sonata Theory: norms, types, and deformations in the late eighteenth-century sonata. Oxford University Press, 2006.

Notes

1. Author First Name Author Last Name and Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of book (Publisher, Date of Publication), page numbers.

1. James Hepokoski and Warren Darcy, Elements of Sonata Theory: norms, types, and deformations in the late eighteenth-century sonata (Oxford University Press, 2006), 46.

Ubiquitous Listening by Anahid Kassabian
Call Number: Performing Arts Library - Stacks ; ML3800.K184 2013
ISBN: 9780520275164
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
How does the constant presence of music in modern life--on iPods, in shops and elevators, on television--affect the way we listen? With so much of this sound, whether imposed or chosen, only partially present to us, is the act of listening degraded by such passive listening? In Ubiquitous Listening, Anahid Kassabian investigates the many sounds that surround us and argues that this ubiquity has led to different kinds of listening. Kassabian argues for a new examination of the music we do not normally hear (and by implication, that we do), one that examines the way it is used as a marketing tool and a mood modulator, and exploring the ways we engage with this music.

Bibliography

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Book chapter." In Title of book, translated OR edited by First Name Last Name, page range. Publisher, Date of Publication.
Kassabian, Anahid. "Musicals Hit the Small Screen." In Ubiquitous Listening: Affect, Attention, and Distributed Subjectivity, 84-105. University of California Press, 2013.

Notes

1. Author First Name Author Last Name, "Book chapter" in Title of Book, ed. OR trans. First Name Last Name (Publisher, Date of Publication), Page Number.
1. Anahid Kassabian, "Musicals Hit the Small Screen" in Ubiquitous Listening: Affect, Attention, and Distributed Subjectivity (University of California Press, 2013), 92.

Mary Stuart by Friedrich. Schiller
Call Number: Performing Arts - Playscripts ; S355.M379 1998
ISBN: 0140447113
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This dramatic story recounts Mary, Queen of Scots's remaining days held captive in Fotheringay Castle. In scenes alternating between Mary's prison and Elizabeth's court at Westminster, Schiller's play gradually builds a compelling picture of a tragic heroine rising above her suffering to gain in insight and spiritual depth. In contrast Elizabeth, in turmoil over the correct course of action for her country and trapped by the cruel demands of Realpolitik, can achieve worldly victory only at a terrible moral cost. Culminating in a fictitious meeting of the two women, Mary Stuart is a dramatic meditation on the nature of political power, but also a deeply moving human tragedy that captures the emotional essence of complex events.

Bibliography

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of book. Edited by OR Compiled by OR Translated by First Last. Publisher, Date of Publication.
Schiller, Friedrich. Mary Stuart. Translated by Francis J. Lamport. Penguin Books, 1998.

Notes

1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of book, eds. OR trans. (Publisher, Date of Publication), page numbers.
1. Friedrich Schiller, Mary Stuart, trans. Francis J. Lamport (Penguin Books, 1998), 71-73.

Artistic Practice As Research in Music: Theory, Criticism, Practice by Mine Doğantan-Dack (Editor)
Call Number: Performing Arts Library - Stacks ; ML3797.A77 2015
ISBN: 9781409445456
Publication Date: 2015-04-28
Artistic Practice as Research in Music: Theory, Criticism, Practice brings together internationally renowned scholars and practitioners to explore the cultural, institutional, theoretical, methodological, epistemological, ethical and practical aspects and implications of the rapidly evolving area of artistic research in music. Through various theoretical positions and case studies, and by establishing robust connections between theoretical debates and concrete examples of artistic research projects, the authors discuss the conditions under which artistic practice becomes a research activity; how practice-led research is understood in conservatoire settings; issues of assessment in relation to musical performance as research; methodological possibilities open to music practitioners entering academic environments as researchers; the role of technology in processes of musical composition as research; the role and value of performerly knowledge in music-analytical enquiry; issues in relation to live performance as a research method; artistic collaboration and improvisation as research tools; interdisciplinary concerns of the artist-researcher; and the relationship between the affordances of a musical instrument and artistic research in musical performance. Readers will come away from the book with fresh insights about the theoretical, critical and practical work being done by experts in this exciting new field of enquiry.

Bibliography

Editor Last Name, Editor First Name, ed. Title of Work. Publisher, Year of Publication.

Doğantan, Mine, ed. Artistic practice as research in music: theory, criticism, practice. Ashgate, 2015.

Notes

1. Editor First Name Last Name, ed., Title of Work (Publisher, Year of Publication), page number.

1. Mine Doğantan, ed., Artistic practice as research in music: theory, criticism, practice (Ashgate, 2015), 35.

If the title page includes other names than the author, editor, compiler, or translator you may want to include them. Things like the author of forewords or introductions can be mentioned if they are considered sufficiently important.

Bibliography:

Last, First. Title of book. With Author First Last and with a foreword by First Last. Publisher, Year.

Conway, Tim. What's So Funny? My Hilarious Life. With Jane Scovell and with a foreword by Carol Burnett. Howard Books, 2013.

Notes:

1 First Last, foreword to Title of Book (Publisher, Year).

1 Carol Burnett, foreword to What's So Funny? My Hilarious Life (Howard Books, 2013).

When an edition other than the first is cited, the number or description of the edition follows the title. First edition is assumed when not specified. Such wording as 'Second Edition' is abbreviated in notes and bibliorgaphies simply as 2nd ed.

A History of Western Music by J. Peter Burkholder; Donald Jay Grout; Claude V. Palisca
Call Number: Performing Arts Library - Reference ; REF ML160.G872 2010
ISBN: 9780393931259
Publication Date: 2009-01-30
Building on his monumental revision of the Seventh Edition, Peter Burkholder has refined an inspired narrative for a new generation of students, placing people at the center of the story. The narrative of A History of Western Music naturally focuses on the musical works, styles, genres, and ideas that have proven most influential, enduring, and significant--but it also encompasses a wide range of music, from religious to secular, from serious to humorous, from art music to popular music, and from Europe to the Americas. With a six-part structure emphasizing the music's reception and continued influence, Burkholder's narrative establishes a social and historical context for each repertoire to reveal its legacy and its significance today.

Bibliography

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of book. Edition. Publisher, Date of Publication.
Burkholder, J. Peter, Donald Jay Grout, Claude V. Palisca. A History of Western Music. 8th ed. W.W. Norton & Company, 2010.

Notes

1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of book, Edition (Publisher,
Date of Publication), page numbers.
1. J. Peter Burkholder, Donald Jay Grout, Claude V. Palisca, A History of Western Music, 8th ed. (W.W. Norton & Company, 2010), 78-80.

Music in the Late Twentieth Century by Richard Taruskin
Call Number: Performing Arts Library - Reference ; REF ML160.T37 2009 v.5
ISBN: 9780195384857
Publication Date: 2009-07-27
The universally acclaimed and award-winning Oxford History of Western Music is a magisterial five-volume survey of the traditions of Western music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin.Now this renowned work is available in paperback--both as a set and (for the first time) individually. This volume examines the music of the late twentieth century, ranging from Milton Babbitt and Edgard Varese to Steven Reich and Philip Glass . Taking a critical perspective, Taruskin sets the details of music, the chronological sweep of figures, works, and musical ideas, within the larger context of world affairs and cultural history. He combines an emphasis on structure and form with a discussion of relevant theoretical concepts in each age, to illustrate how the music itself works, and how contemporaries heard and understood it. He also describes how the context of each stylistic period - key cultural, historical, social, economic, and scientific events - influenced and directed compositional choices.Attractively illustrated and laced with brilliant observations, memorable musical analysis, and a panoramic sense of the interactions between history, culture, politics, art, literature, religion, and music, this volume is essential reading for anyone who wishes to understand twentieth-century music.

Citing a multivolume work as a whole

Bibliography:

Taruskin, Richard, eds. The Oxford History of Western Music. 5 vols. Oxford University Press, 2010.

Notes:

1 Richard Taruskin, eds., The Oxford History of Western Music, 5 vols., (Oxford University Press, 2010).

Citing a particular volume

Bibliography:

Taruskin, Richard, ed. Music in the late twentieth century. Vol. 5, The Oxford History of Western Music, Oxford University Press, 2010.

Notes:

1 Music in the late twentieth century, ed. Richard Taruskin, vol. 5, The Oxford History of Western Music (Oxford University Press, 2010), 515.

Chapters and other parts of individual volumes

Bibliography:

Taruskin, Richard, ed. "Starting from scratch." In Music in the late twentieth century, Vol. 5 of The Oxford History of Western Music. Oxford University Press, 2010.

Notes:

1 Richard Taruskin, ed. "Starting from scratch," in Music in the late twentieth century, vol. 5, The Oxford History of Western Music (Oxford University Press, 2010), 515.

Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries by Joseph Auner; Walter Frisch (Series edited by)
Call Number: Performing Arts Library - Reserves Shelf ; REF. ML197.A87 2013
ISBN: 9780393929201
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Joseph Auner's Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries explores the sense of possibility unleashed by the era's destabilizing military conflicts, social upheavals, and technological advances. Auner shows how the multiplicity of musical styles has called into question traditional assumptions about compositional practice, the boundaries of music and noise, and the relationship among composer, performer, and listener. He also shows how composers and their works have played important roles in defining ideas of nation, race, and gender, and thus in shaping the modern world for better and worse. Western Music in Context: A Norton History comprises six volumes of moderate length, each written in an engaging style by a recognized expert. Authoritative and current, the series examines music in the broadest sense--as sounds notated, performed, and heard--focusing not only on composers and works, but also on broader social and intellectual currents.

Bibliography

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Work. Title of Series. Publisher, Year of Publication.
Auner, Joseph. Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries, Western Music in Context. W.W. Norton & Company, 2013.

Notes

1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of Work, Title of Series (Publisher, Year of Publication), page number.

1. Joseph Auner, Music in the Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries, Western Music in Context (W.W. Norton & Company, 2013), 57.

Musical Theatre Realism and Entertainment by Millie Taylor
Call Number: Proquest Ebook
ISBN: 9781409438328
Publication Date: 2012-01-28
In Musical Theatre, Realism and Entertainment, Millie Taylor explores the ways in which musical theatre reaches out to and involves its audiences. Taylor investigates how pleasure is stimulated by vocal, musical and spectacular performances.

Most of the books you'll consult on online library databases will be consulted through a website so you should use the following format:

Bibliography:

Last, First. Title. Publisher, Year. URL OR DOI.

Taylor, Millie. Musical Theatre, Realism and Entertainment. Ashgate, 2016. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/roosevelt/detail.action?docID=806868.

Note:

1 First Last, Title (Publisher, Year), Page Numbers-Page Numbers, URL OR DOI.

1 Millie Taylor, Musical Theatre, Realism and Entertainment (Ashgate, 2016), 35-36, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/roosevelt/detail.action?docID=806868.

Hamilton: The Revolution
Google Play Books

The less likely Ebook option:

Many books are published both in print and as a downloadable file in one or more ebook formats.

Reflowable formats: Apple Books, Kindle. Google Play Books.

Other options that aren't proprietary: EPUB or PDF.

PLEASE NOTE: MOST ELECTRONIC BOOKS FROM THE LIBRARY WILL NOT BE IN THIS FORMAT.

In the event that you are consulting an electronic book via Kindle, Apple Books, Google Play, or the like - you'd use the following:

Bibliography:

Last, First. Title. Publisher, Year. Format.

Miranda, Lin-Manuel and Jeremy McCarter. Hamilton: The Revolution. Grand Central Publishing, 2016. Google Play Books.

Notes:

1 First Last, Title (Publisher, Year), Page Numbers-Page Numbers or Chapter Number, format.

1 Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter, Hamilton: The Revolution (Grand Central Publishing, 2016), chap. 7, Google Play Books.