Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

PAL Research Guide

Published Scores - Single Work

For translated titles of cited works see – CMoS 14.99

Scores should generally be treated as books. Arrangers of works are treated like editors or translators.

See CMoS 14.255 - Published Scores

Bibliography

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of score. Publication location: Publisher, Date of Publication.


Thomas, Augusta Read. Chant. New York: G. Schirmer, 2006.

Notes

 1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of score (Publication location: Publisher, Date of Publication), page number.


 1. Augusta Read Thomas, Chant (New York: G. Schirmer, 2006), 2.

Work in a Collection, or a Movement in a Larger Work

These should be treated like chapters in a book, or volumes in a collection of works.

Bibliography

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of score. Collection Title, volume information. Edited by Name of Editor. Publication location: Publisher, Date of Publication.


Schubert, Franz. “Gefrorne Tränen.” No. 3 in Winterreise: The Autograph Score. The Pierpont Morgan Library Music Manuscript Reprint Series. Edited by Susan Youens. New York: Dover, 1989.

Notes

1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of Book, Collection Title, volume information, Name of editor, ed. (Publication location: Publisher, Date of Publication), page numbers.


1. Franz Schubert, “Gefrorne Träanen,” no. 3 in Winterreise: The Autograph Score, The Pierpont Morgan Library Music Manuscript Reprint Series, Susan Youens, ed. (New York: Dover, 1989), 8.

Online Music Score (IMSLP, etc.)

This is not listed in CMoS, but is similar to an electronic book.

Bibliography

Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of score or "Title of score" (as appropriate to title of the work) Publication location: Publisher, Date of Publication. Accessed Date. URL or Resource Title.


Beethoven, Ludwig van. String Quartet in B flat major op. 18 no. 6. Universal Edition. Philiharmonia series. New York: E. F. Kalmus, 1937. https://imslp.org/wiki/Special:ReverseLookup/90199.

Notes

1. Author First Name Author Last Name, Title of score or "Title of score" (as appropriate to title of the  work) (Publication location: Publisher, Date of Publication), accessed Date. URL or Resource Title.


1. Ludwig van Beethoven, String Quartet in B flat major op. 18 no. 6, Universal Edition, Philharmonia series (New York: E.F. Kalmus, 1937), 172. https://imslp.org/wiki/Special:ReverseLookup/90199.

Unpublished Music Score

See CMoS 14.221 - 14.31 for Unpublished Works

Unpublished scores are cited the similar to unpublished books. Copy information exactly as it is listed.

Some scores can be found using the internet, if there is a webpage that links directly to the item, include the URL. Otherwise, do not include an URL.

Example: https://ww.themorgan.org/music/manuscript/114166

Bibliography

Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Title of Score." Format. Year. Location.


Bach, Johann Sebastion. "Cantatas. Selections. Seven Cantatas by Bach, once owned by Mendelssohn." Copyist's manuscript. [1700-1750]. Department of Music Manuscripts and Books, Pierpont Morgan Library. https://ww.themorgan.org/music/manuscript/114166.

Notes

1. Author First Name Author Last Name, "Title of score," format, Year, Location.


1. Johann Sebastian Bach, "Cantatas. Selections. Seven cantatas by Bach, once owned by Mendelssohn," copyist's manuscript, [1700-1750], Department of Music Manuscripts and Books, Pierpont Morgan Library. https://ww.themorgan.org/music/manuscript/114166.