PAL Research Guide

Get the guidance you need quickly with the Chicago Manual of Style QuickStudy® guide. Based on the 17th edition of CMS, this handy 6 page laminated guide covers the essentials of this often mandatory style for academic research papers, business reports and published manuscripts. Expertly authored using 25 plus years of experience in editing, academics, business and publishing, it covers aspects of the style necessary for most papers and publications and includes common, real-world sample references for both CMS citation formats so that you can be sure you are giving appropriate credit where credit is due. Add this inexpensive tool to your resources for another way to reinforce your CMS knowledge and ensure your writing is not clouded by incorrect usage that might affect your reader, especially your professors where a grade might be affected. 6 page laminated guide includes: Preparing a Manuscript Copyright & Fair Use Style & Usage Bias-Free Language Punctuation Style & Usage Lists Capitalization Numbers Abbreviations & Acronyms Quotations Documentation Source Citation Overview The Author-Date System The Notes & Bibliography System Sample References Tricky Words An Introduction to Grammar  

When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material.  A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Bestselling, trusted, and time-tested advice for writing research papers The best interpretation of Chicago style for higher education students and researchers Definitive, clear, and easy to read, with plenty of examples Shows how to compose a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite sources, and structure work in a logical way Essential for anyone interested in learning about research Everything any student or teacher needs to know concerning paper writing