PAL Research Guide

Musicals! is an illustrated sourcebook for total theatre training, emphasizing the director's role in the three main building blocks for mounting a performance: preparation, production, and performance. Boland and Argentini provide a comprehensive step-by-step theatre primer which will prove invaluable to musical directors, teachers, administrators, students, and actors. After the initial decisions are made, specific guidelines in preparing the stage picture, holding auditions and casting, and running the gamut of rehearsals are provided. Lighting, costumes, creating sets and scenery, and safety precautions are also discussed. The musical number and choreography are analyzed and defined, and advice on how to use color and solve multiple scene problems is given. With opening night approaching, a checklist of what must be done is enumerated and explained. The authors provide tips on publicity, running the box office, as well as the do's and don'ts of mounting the show and its final strike. Includes a glossary of theatrical terms, a selected bibliography, and recommended sources for scenic drops, costumes, and lighting equipment.

Music Education in Your Hands is a textbook for the introductory course in Music Education. Written for future classroom music teachers, the book provides an overview of the music education system , illuminating the many topics that music educators need to know, including technology, teaching methods, curricular evolution, legislation, and a range of societal needs from cultural diversity to evolving tastes in music. It encompasses a broad picture of the profession, and how the future of music education rests in the hands of today's student teachers as they learn how to become advocates for music in our schools. FEATURES A balance of sound historical foundations with recent research and thinking; Coursework that is appropriate in level and length for a one semester introductory course; Actual dialogue between undergraduate music education majors and teachers, illustrating pertinent issues teachers must face; An emphasis on opportunities in the greater community beyond the walls of the school that music teachers should be familiar with; Suggested topics for activities and critical thinking for every chapter; A companion web site including student and instructor resources

If you want to improve your professional performance and set yourself apart from your colleagues-in any discipline-these tips are for you. If you desire anything less than achieving the very best, you won't want this book. Rather than addressing research and theory about music education or the "how-tos" of teaching, these time-honored tips focus on common-sense qualities and standards of performance that are essential for success-everywhere. Whether you're considering a career in music education, entering your first year of teaching, or nearing the end of a distinguished tenure, this advice applies to musicians in any setting. Affirming quality performance for experienced teachers and guiding, nurturing, and supporting the novice, Young outlines what great music teachers do. Easy to read and straightforward, read it from beginning to end or focus on tips of interest. Come back time and again for encouragement, ideas, and affirmation of your choice to teach music.

Building Strong Music Programs uniquely focuses on music programs in the public school community, providing strategies and tools for developing a vibrant music program and building community support. Covering relationships with colleagues, parents, staff, administrators, and the community at large, Charlene Ryan also provides tactics for developing courses, performances, and publicity to enhance your program. Build a repertoire of tried-and-true strategies covering curriculum, classroom management, special needs, concerts, assessment, budget, and more that are based on years of teaching at all levels. While program building is an essential, time-consuming part of every music teacher's job, students are rarely prepared for it. The questions for discussion and student assignments make this an excellent choice for preservice teacher training courses. Ryan covers issues important to student teachers, new teachers, teachers changing schools, and teachers looking to rejuvenate their existing programs. From student trips to music software to district ensembles to advocacy to entry-level instrumental courses, Ryan covers it all in this comprehensive handbook.

Crowd Control is a nuts-and-bolts manual for teachers of middle and high school performance-based classes such as band, orchestra, and chorus. This practical 'how-to' guide shows teachers_pre-serviced or experienced_efficient ways to manage large performance-based classrooms. With wit and sage tried-and-true advice, Haugland provides a complete behavior plan as well as concrete ideas for addressing the National Standards, assessment, advocacy, and ensemble teambuilding. Accessible and indispensable, Crowd Control will become a vital resource in every music teacher's library.