Selected Faculty PublicationsJournal Articles & General InformationLaw, Philanthropy, SOS FilingCompany Market Share & DataResearching Private CompaniesResearching Public CompaniesAmerican AssociationsIndustry StatisticsIndustry Market Share & DataMarketing ResearchInternational AssociationsInternational Futures & Stock MarketsInternational CompetitivenessStatistics and Think TanksInternational FinanceInternational Industry & MarketingAmericasAfrica & AsiaEuropeSustainabilityCorporate Social ResponsibilitySalesCommerce & EnterpriseSmall Business
This is the "Home" page of the "Company & Industry Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Roosevelt University Logo

About the Library

Library Locations

Exhibits

Alumni & Friends


Last Updated: Apr 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.roosevelt.edu/companyindustry Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Access from off campus

Having trouble using these resources off campus? Just enter your Library ID, which is 23311+your 9 digit personal ID number. If you have problems, contact the Library or see our Remote Access FAQ.

 

Featured Books

Cover Art
Management strategy : achieving sustained competitive advantage - Alfred A. Marcus
Call Number: SCH HD30.28 .M3527 2011
A strategy book which focuses on how making winning moves is dependent upon finding profitable patterns that repeatedly meet customer demands for solutions. Where many strategy books have lost sight of the purpose of strategy and fail to show how decisions actually affect business performance and ultimately, outcomes, Management Strategy focuses on the types of analyses the industry, environment, and a company's internal resources require to make effective strategic moves.

Cover Art
Emerging markets : performance, analysis and innovation - Greg N. Gregoriou
Call Number: SCH HG5993 .E5634 2010
Provides a variety of perspectives on emerging markets, their current status as investments, and their growth prospects. Topics include: emerging market returns and exposure, equity returns and earnings, stock market volatility of European markets, institutional factors behind capital structure, venture capital in specific markets, market liquidity and investor sentiment, closed-end funds in emerging markets, financial distress, government corruption and transactional impediments, and accounting and auditing aspects of corporate governance. The collection is written clearly and documented well.

 

Finding Journal Articles from the Library

Research databases

This search box will search Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Hospitality & Tourism Complete, EconLit, and Regional Business News for articles related to your topic.  If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Roosevelt ID number, starting with 23311. 

My Professor Says I Can't Use Wikipedia

We hear it all the time: "I can't use Wikipedia!" The following resources search credible encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more - the same ones you see sitting on the shelves in the library - and they are fully searchable and readable online. Think of them as your librarian-approved alterative to Wikipedia.

  • Credo Reference Home
    Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine. Credo Reference
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library Basic Search
    The Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online full-text collection of valuable reference books in multiple subject areas. This collection includes many multidisciplinary reference e-books, including some with primary source documents.
  • Sage eReference General Search
    Provides access to many encyclopedias in a variety of academic disciplines, including Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Social Issues, and Sociology.
 

E-books for Business - Company & Industry

The library owns the following ebooks that might be very useful for doing company & industry factual research.

Cover Art
Business: The Ultimate Resource - Bloomsbury Publishing, c2009 edition
Call Number: E-book: Credo Reference
Contains best practice essays, actionlists and checklists, digests of the world's best business books, business guru biographies, and a jargon-free dictionary.

Cover Art
The Ultimate Business Library : The Greatest Books That Made Management - Stuart Crainer
Publication Date: 2003
The Ultimate Business Library is a one stop guide to the world's leading management thinkers. It offers a unique summary of over 75 business books that have had the most impact on business thinking. From Tom Peters to Peter Drucker and Rosabeth Moss Kanter to Charles Handy, The Ultimate Business Library will ensure business men and women are rapidly up to speed with the ideas shaping modern business.

Cover Art
Market Share Reporter
Call Number: E-book: Gale Directory Library
Publication Date: 2013
Part of Gale's Digital Library Collection, this online version of Market Share Reporter presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.

Cover Art
Business Rankings Annual
Call Number: E-book: Gale Directory Library
Publication Date: 2012
Part of Gale's Digital Library Collection, this online version of Business Rankings Annual contains information related to rankings on companies, products, services, and activities culled from a variety of published sources such as periodicals, newspapers, financial services, directories, statistical annuals and other printed material.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Call Number: E-book: Gale Virtual Reference Library
Publication Date: 2008
Provides detailed, comprehensive essays on every industry in the SIC system, with each essay annotated to the corresponding NAICS code. Covers a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Call Number: E-book: Gale Virtual Reference Library
Publication Date: 2007
Chronicles the history, development and current status of the world's most lucrative and high profile industries. Each entry covers size and economic/social impact of the industry; its organization and structure; its history and development; & major countries and companies involved.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Call Number: E-book: Gale Virtual Reference Library
Publication Date: 2007
Consists of detailed profiles newer industries, such as biometrics, risk management services, satellites, specialty tourism, and others.

My Profile

Contact Us (sm)

Searching for E-books

  • Springer E-book Collection
    Click on "Browse by Collection", then type a few keywords in the "Search Within This Collection" box. You will discover chapters in PDF from more than 20,000 scholarly ebooks as well as quite a few journal article citations.
  • Search for E-books in the RU Catalog
    To limit your search to just E-books in the university's library catalog, limit your search to "Electronic". Note: if you widen your search to the entire I-Share catalog, the E-books at other universities are not accessible.
 

Why Choose Library Information Over Web Resources?

Many students who are new to the college experience will ask the question, "Why can't I just use the web?" and "What's wrong with using Wikipedia?"  Well, it all boils down to accountability:  "That resource is fine and all, but did the author put their name to it?"  Next, think:  "What are the credentials of this person - what makes them credible and authentic?"  On the web, anyone can post their thoughts, but:  "Did they cite other writers to back themselves up?"  and "Just how can you be sure that this person quality-checked their hypothesis, experimental method, and conclusions before posting their work?"

Universities solve this accountability dillemma by aggregating, through subscription databases, the scholarly output of experts the world over.  Library databases bring to the reader articles of 10 to 20 pages that have been:  written by verifiably credentialed individuals; created with a list of References which cite other professionals in the field; and quality-checked by editorial boards through a peer-review process.  Of course, each database is somewhat unique, and many will contain trade periodical articles, popular magazine articles, and newspaper articles.  Some databases won't provide the credentials of the author, but their professional authority can be inferred by the journal publisher's reputation.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip